Erotic Musings, Dee Dawning
Reader/writer/kibitzer WordPress.com weblog

Erotic Authors – What Makes Them Tick? An Interview with Lynn Crain

Dear reader,

As a consumer of erotica, have you ever wondered how the writers of those titillating stories, which make us wet or hard, come up with their wild scenarios. Have they performed what they write about? Do they have fantasies? Have they indulged themselves or are they all talk and no show? (like me.)

I don’t care what they eat. I want to know who they ate or would like to eat! What motivates them? What gets them going?

Shall we find out. This week’s person of interest is highly acclaimed author Lynn Crain.

Welcome Lynn, seeing how we are trying to get a feel for the sensuous writer, my questions may be a little pointed, so if you have a problem with a question, just go to the next one.

viewphoto.jpg

First question: How did you start writing erotica?

I’ve always written the hot, sensual stuff anyway. So when someone challenged me, saying that I couldn’t write one well, I took up that challenge. And one month later submitted my first book, Captive Illusions to sXtasy Books.

How long have you been writing erotica and would you prefer to write anything else?

I’ve been writing erotica for two years now although I’ve always written the ‘HOT’ stuff, I just never added the words that made it erotic.

Do you feel you offer anything special to your readers?

Yes, I do because I write stories I love.


• What are your writing goals?

I have lots of them. Right now, my goal is to get rid of all my outside commitments EXCEPT writing. I know that my writing time has been hurt by me over committing myself. I’m the type of writer who can produce a book a week IF I’m not distracted by outside commitments. I’m also committed to epublishing and the majority of my books will be through epublishers although I am seeking the big time at NYC.

As an erotic writer, you are assumed to be a sexual person. Do you have any sexual hang-ups?

Doesn’t everyone? LOL! And I have to agree that everyone assumes you to be a sexual person. I’ll never forget the day a fan asked me if I had tried everything in my books. At first, I was stunned and then I replied I wasn’t a pretzel. People have to realize that these books are fiction and the author’s sexual practices are their own business. Let’s just say for the record that I’m a normal, heterosexual female who has been married a long time to the same person. I’ll leave the rest to everyone’s imagination. LOL!

As an erotic writer and a sexual person, do you have any sexual fantasies?

Absolutely. I think it is one of the main ingrediants to being an erotic romance writer.

Have you acted out your fantasy? If you haven’t would you consider living out your fantasy?

Now, that would be telling, wouldn’t it? On the other hand, I condsider myself to be living my fantasy every day. I’m a writer and the majority of my time is spent on that endeavor. It was always my dream and fantasy to be able to do that. And I can do that because of the wonderful man I married. With out his support I would be chugging away at a nine-to-five that I couldn’t stand.

From where do you get your main characters?

This may sound strange but I get most of them from life. I’m a people watcher and I’m always putting stories to actions I see played out in front of me. I always carry a small notebook in my purse to jot down those moments. Other characters come to me when I see a movie, a picture, you name it, I can come up with characters.

What is your preferred style, when writing erotica, ie. m/f f/f, m/m, mfm, bdsm, etc?

I let the story dictate to me how it wants to be. I’ve written everything but m/m and f/f stories. I’m writing my second Captive Illusion book now and it’s going slow only because the characters aren’t doing what I wanted them to do. They have minds of their own and need to do their own thing. Once I let go and the characters take over the book, it’s a wonderful thing.

What do you personally look for in a sexual partner?

Well, since I’ve been with the same person for a long time, it’s been a while. Still, when I met my husband what struck me was his smile and his sense of humor. He dazzled a bunch of us because he came in one day wearing a suit and my friend commented that he looked like he stepped off the cover of GQ. I wasn’t looking at him at the time but when I turned around, I realized that what she said was true and I was smitten. Been that way every since.

Doing what to your sexual partner, gets you excited?

Again, that would be telling. Just suffice it to say that turning him on is a turn on to me.

Which celebrities or other well known individuals, if any, do you drool over?

I have lots but most of them aren’t really big celebrities except in certain circles. I love a lot of the guys on the Sci-Fi channel’s series cause they are edgy and more down to earth than most. I love Richard Dean Anderson and was really sad when he stopped doing Stargate SG1 regularly. I have a real thing for Ben Browder from when he played Crichton on Farscape. I just love those sci-fi dudes. Another I get a kick out of is Colin Ferguason on Eureka. He’s cute for a youngster. The only other ones I can say float my boat would be Gerard Butler and possibly Ben Afleck also from the younger crowd.

Do you sometimes get turned on by your own erotic writing?

I’m of the opinion that if you writing can’t turn you on when it’s supposed to, if it can’t make you cry when it’s supposed to or if it can’t make you angry when it’s supposed to how in the hell can it make the reader feel that way. If you can not feel the emotions yourself when you are writing them there is a problem in my opinion.

If so, do you do anything about it?

Depends on if the hubby is around. LOL!

Have you ever participated in any of the wild scenarios of which you have written?

No, because they are fiction. LOL!

In your estimation, what is the sexiest book/story you have written? And do you have a sexy passage that you would share with us.

In my opinion, the best thing I’ve written so far is a piece that’s uncontracted and is told from both the hero and heroine’s first person POV. It’s really fun to write. Here’s a little bit from it and it’s from Aeryn’s POV. Remember this is totally unedited as it is a work in progress.

“So…you really don’t know where your underwear might be?”

I stared at my best friend across the table. It sounded so much better when I really wasn’t thinking about it. “Do you have to be so loud?” I put my head in my hands and peered through my fingers at Monica, who’s been my best friend since grade school.

“It’s not my fault that you have the mother of all hangovers. Again. How many times have I told you to stay away from the tequila?” She sighed and sipped on her hot tea. “We’re in Scotland. You’re supposed to be drinking whiskey.”

“I know, I know. It’s to-kill-ya. But please, I gotta figure out where my underwear is.” I sent her my best ‘you have to help me’ look.

“I’ll try but this is just way too funny.” She looked around the almost empty pub. “Just think…this place was the scene of an…underwear napping.” She laughed then winked at me.

“This really isn’t funny, you know.” I lay my head down on my hands. Just thinking about it was making me queasy.
“You’re on vacation, why are you so worried?” She shrugged her shoulders in that typical Monica way.

I looked up at her and groaned. “It’s a working vacation. I’m a lawyer for heaven sakes. I’m supposed to be a model citizen.” I really wished I could do more than just look at her with distain. What I really wanted to do was wring her neck and get that smug expression off her face. “And I’m here with bunch of damn lawyers!” My voice rose and my head immediately began throbbing like a percussion band. I really needed to watch that, I thought as rubbed my forehead.

Monica sat back in her chair and sipped her tea daintily once again. “You really need to get into this Scottish tea. It’ll do wonders for that aching head.”

I grimaced and wished she hadn’t reminded me. My law firm was an international company and when we found out an important conference on international law was being held in Edinburgh, Scotland, we jumped on the chance. Monica and I had toured the continent right out of law school but of all the places we went to, Scotland was our favorite. We had accrued plenty of vacation time and it only took a little time to convince our employers that it would be in their best interest to let us go to this particular conference.

“Would you just quit it?” I mumbled into the table.

“What was that? You don’t remember any of it?”

I looked up with what I hoped was the most ill and forlorn look I could give her. “I wish you’d just stop it.”

She pursed her lips before sitting her tea back on the table. “You know you really shouldn’t be so worried.”

“Why not? Half the lawyers here have already tried to jump my bones and the other half wished they had tried. How do you get away with them not slobbering all over you? And you know how I get when I ‘m drinking tequila.”

She let out a long, low whistle. “Hon, I’m not the all American blonde woman here. And you betcha, I totally understand better than anyone just how you are when you drink that poison. But really, you don’t need to worry as I know who has them.”

This was a shining spot in an otherwise dim day. “You do? Who?”

She smiled at me then with that all knowing bitch smile she uses when she knows she has the superior position. “Yeah, I do.” Monica paused for a minute for effect. If nothing else the woman was dramatic and very effective in the courtroom.. “The stud has them.”

I let my head thump back down on the table. This was worse than I thought.

I show a portion every month to the readers of my newsletter. As readers of that newsletter, they will be getting the complete first three chapters and then bits and pieces throughout the rest of the story. I am actually letting people into my creative process, beginning to end.

What is your current release? Please post a blurb or tell us about it.

My September release is from Loose Id and is from an anthology I’ve written with three other friends. It’s called Blue Moon Magic and I’ve written the fourth book called, Night of a Blue Moon. This book was a departure for me because every chapter except on is told from the hero’s POV. It was fun to do. Enjoy!

Blue Moon Magic

One father.
Two mothers.
Four siblings.
One incredible story about that special night which changes them all. Forever.

Night of a Blue Moon
Book 4: Blue Moon Magic
By Lynn Crain
All his life he felt he hadn’t belonged but it wasn’t until Clarity Langford appeared did he know the truth of it. Once that truth was revealed there was no going back for Connor Angus, only forward. He knows his arrival on the scene has thrown his sisters for a loop and turned their ordered world into chaos in more ways than he can imagine. Still, he had to find his way among the Elite that he had been trained to fight all his life when he discovered he is the long thought dead son of pack Elite leader, Charles Langford. And with that knowledge comes a family full of sisters, mystery and longing for things he’s not sure he has any right to obtain.

Cordelia Sinclair, Cordy, has been on the inside for more years than she can remember. She had come on the scene when the girls were young and Charles Langford needed someone who could be his most discrete and trusted aide. And she could keep secrets better than anybody. But at forty-two, she sometimes felt like a dried up old prune when it came to love. Her mate had died only three years before in a Beta raid, and even though Charles and the girls had often encouraged her to find another, she hadn’t found anyone who could measure up. When Connor Angus walked through her door, she knew her life was going to change and she wasn’t sure she was going to like it.

Their physical attraction was instant but it may take years for their minds to catch up to what their bodies already know. Cordy couldn’t believe this arrogant wolf can be the son of someone as kind and giving as Charles Langford. Never mind that he had been brought up by Charles’ archenemy Rowan Angus of the more animalistic Beta Clan. And she was just the person to knock that arrogance out of him with her Elite special training.

Connor knew he wanted to bed her from the moment he saw her. But a casual bedding among the Elite wasn’t the norm. Hell, he had bedded plenty of women at the request of his Beta father, Rowan, but never had he felt a connection like he did now with Cordy. But there were complications. She had a child and he knew she thought him arrogant and unkempt. He was going to have to teach her that it took more than what met the eye to have an Elite pedigree.

Excerpt

Prologue

He had always been in this cage in one-way or another. It was only recently they had decided to make it his permanent room. He did remember a time when the cage hadn’t been necessary, when he had been a younger man, but that had all changed with the appearance of the blonde bitch. Or had it?

Since Connor Logan Angus had grown to manhood, it was as if the whole clan were afraid of him, of what he could do. They were his family, weren’t they? He shook his head furiously. Of course they were. He had always been with them, had never known anything else. Then why did he feel like he didn’t belong? Why did it feel like he was an outsider? And it just wasn’t the fact of his ice blue eyes or white blonde hair any more; there was more to it and he knew it.

Again, he could trace it back to the time about five years ago when some of the Betas had brought back a prize, claiming it to be an Elite Princess. Being the good son, he stayed in the shadows like his father Rowan had wanted. His father always wanted him in the shadows. He never wanted him to be seen at all and Connor couldn’t understand why. He was one of the best fighters in the clan and it irked him to no end that he was never allowed to go and fight with his brothers. Nevertheless, Father always assured him he was being saved for something special.

And this night had been no different. Kill and Rufus has brought the woman in, dragging her while she fought the whole time. Connor had always done what he was told but this time it felt wrong. Really wrong. He warred with himself until he could stand it no more. He stepped out of the shadows only to be hit by a psychic wave of energy that nearly dumped him on his ass.
Don’t let them do this to me, she pleaded, the voice booming in his head.

It took everything in him to not react. Sure he had been told that he had special powers but no one had prepared him for what they might be. He knew he could change into a wolf but it had only happened once. Being able to hear another’s thoughts, now that was something totally new and unimaginable. Again, he willed himself not to react at all, pressing his new-found gift further within himself.

“Connor,” snarled Kill, “get back into the shadows. You don’t want Father to know you were out here.”

Confused, he turned to him. “I – why are you doing this?” he questioned. This was the first time he had ever questioned his brother. Many who did so did not live to tell the tale.

“It’s none of your affair. Just do what you’re told.” Kill shoved him out of his way. “If you don’t watch it, you’ll be caged like the animal you are.”

Connor, more confused than ever, slunk back into the shadows and watched. This was not the time to try and best his brother.
Not knowing if he would succeed, he tried to contact the woman. I’m sorry, I can’t help you. Although he was in deep shadow, her head pivoted his way and as if realizing her mistake, looked in another direction.

“Who are you?”

The voice was loud and clear. There was no mistaking that he had a telepathic link to this woman. More confused than ever, he shook his head. “My name is Connor Logan Angus.”

“But you can’t be one of them.”

“I am a member of the Beta clan. I am the third son.”

“That can’t be.”

“And why not?”

“Can you link with them like you are with me?”

“I don’t know. I’ve never tried.”

“Whether you know it or not, I do.”

“How?”

“Only those of the same clan or family members can link. I’m an Elite. So what does that make you?”

Connor sunk back into the shadows even more. That sick feeling he had been having recently floated to the top again. “That’s impossible. There’s no way I can be part of your clan. I don’t understand any of this.”

“That makes two of us.”

Thank you for being this week’s guest and sharing with your fans. I hope you have found our questions stimulating.

You’re very welcome. Thanks for having me.

100_2063.jpg

No Responses to “Erotic Authors – What Makes Them Tick? An Interview with Lynn Crain”

Leave a Reply

