Erotic Musings, Dee Dawning
Reader/writer/kibitzer WordPress.com weblog

Erotic Authors – What Makes Them Tick?

Dear reader,

As a consumer of erotica, have you ever wondered how the writers of those titillating stories, which make us wet or hard, come up with their wild scenarios. Are they writing from experience? Do they have fantasies? Have they indulged themselves or are they all talk and no show? (like me.)

I’m Dee Dawning and I’m going to put these kinds of questions to some of the top Erotic Authors in the business.

I don’t care what they eat. I want to know who they would like to eat or ate! What motivates them? What gets them going?

Shall we find out?

This week’s person of interest is highly acclaimed author Kissa Starling.

Welcome Kissa, seeing how we are trying to get a feel for the sensuous writer, my questions may be a little pointed, so if you have a problem with a question, just go to the next one.

First question:

How did you start writing erotica?
I love reading erotic stories and one day I was browsing the web and happened upon a website for female authors. I published two free stories there and then moved onto a contest a few weeks later. After that I found more research than I needed and the balls to submit several stories. There was no stopping me after that.

How long have you been writing erotica and would you prefer to write anything else?
I’ve been writing erotica about two years. I love to write- it doesn’t have to be erotica. I write whatever my mood strikes me to write. Sometimes that’s old-time nostalgic and sometimes it’s down and dirty sex with a stranger watching.

Do you feel you offer anything special to your readers? But of course; I wouldn’t offer up my stories otherwise. I am special- therefore anything I write is special. My stories come from deep inside of me and reflect me in some shape, form, or matter so with every story I give a bit of myself. Who could refuse that?

What are your writing goals?
I have several published stories out but I have yet to finish my first full-length novel. That is my most immediate goal. After that I plan to query agents and sell that novel. I would like to make writing a full time career in the next five years. Even more immediate- I’d like to win the lottery and write beside the water somewhere while I tan in the nude with a frozen drink in my hand (umbrella of course) served by a hot island person- male or female it matters not to me. Several island people would be even better. One to rub each arm, leg, and ooops, I’m in the middle of an interview aren’t I? Always daydreaming…

LOL. Do you have a favorite erotica or erotic romance author or authors?
There are so many good ones out there online and in print. Like so many things in my life it depends on my mood. I love rewritten fairy tales and have even written a few of those myself. I think that group Midnight Seductions Authors has some of the hottest writing I’ve come across in a few years. Their authors write everything from sweet and sappy to shockingly hot and sexy. I will say that my erotic readings started with V.C. Andrews and a huge imagination on my part.

Writing erotica and erotic romance, you are assumed to be a sexual person. Do you have any sexual hang-ups?
Oh yes, several. I won’t have sex with unwashed bums off the street. Now, clean them up and I’ll think about it. I won’t let anyone tie a noose around my neck and choke me during orgasm–which one would I focus on? Knowing myself it would be the pleasure and I’d die forgetting to try to breathe. I absolutely, positively, will NOT have sex on a sinking cruise ship- unless I am begged.

LOL. Well Kissa, You certainly are a lively guest. Tell me, as an erotic writer and a sexual person, do you have any sexual fantasies?
Uh, have you read my books? Don’t all authors write about their fantasies? I fantasize when I read others writing, I fantasize when I read my own. Heck I fantasize reading the back of a box of cornflakes. Is it almost time for breakfast?

Have you acted out your fantasy? If you haven’t would you consider living out your fantasy?
There’s nothing I wouldn’t consider doing to act out mine, or a lover’s, fantasies. (Refer back to sexual hang-up question) Of course I’ve acted out some of my fantasies. Wouldn’t do them justice to let them just sit around in my head all day. Every time I act one out I make up three more. The mind is a terrible thing to waste. Besides, I have to have something to do when I’m in meetings and supposed to be listening.

(Smile) Ah, Kissa, You’re a lady after my heart. Now, from where do you get your main characters?
I love to watch people. Whether it be at the local supermarket or in the middle of a club, I love to observe their personalities. I use a mixture of people I know and don’t know to form characters who are dimensional and realistic at the same time. My favorite part of writing is developing relationships between the characters. And then describing their most intimate moments in detail. I do a lot of ..um..research. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Oh yes, we must do research. What is your preferred style, when writing erotica, ie. m/f, f/f, m/m, mfm, bdsm, etc?
I’ve written all of those listed except for m/m. Lesbian erotica is what I’m into writing right now. That may change in the future and it may not. It’s another aspect of writing that depends on my mood. Regardless of the gender of the characters- everything’s a little better with some BDSM thrown in, wouldn’t you agree? Variety is the spice of life and floggers, whips, fur gloves- they all add a bit of spice.

What do you personally look for in a sexual partner?
Someone who’s willing. Seriously, I want the body, mind, and soul. Bring me all three, if only for a short period of time, rather then presenting them to me separately at different times. Sex is an amazing experience and should be focused on in the moment. And the moments leading up to it. And the moments after when the after-gasms hit. And during the meeting when your boss is boring you to tears. And….oh, sorry, on to the next question.

(Smile) As long as he’s not boring into you. Now Kissa. Tell me, have you ever crossed any sexual taboos, ie. sex in a public place?
Not unless you consider state parks, open grassy areas next to train tracks, going down the highway in a car, or suburban neighborhoods in broad daylight public? I certainly didn’t at the time. Hey, things happen in the spur of the moment. And others are just well-planned displays of affection. Did I mention the back row of the movie theatre or dark parking lots?

Than you Kissa, You just reminded me of times at the Drive-in theater in the back of my beat up pick-up truck. Back to the interview. If so, did you regret it? Or maybe found it exhilarating?
I’ve weaved some of those things into my stories. I don’t do regrets, what’s the point? But the time the park ranger took out his little notebook and turned on his radio I did plead with God and all of my other resources to get me out of a ‘jam’.

Which celebrities or other well known individuals, if any, do you drool over?
I think Mel Gibson is sexy as is Ron Howard. Both for completely different reasons. I like older men so none of those young buff boys will do it for me. Distinguished is such a sexy attribute. The guy from Highlander definitely makes my body tingle. No one gets me going like my awesome, handsome, paddle-weilding hubby though.

Do you sometimes get turned on by your own erotic writing?
If I didn’t wouldn’t that be a sad state of affairs. How can I turn on others if I can’t turn on myself? Other people take coffee breaks and I take poontang breaks. Who has the better job I ask? ME, I say with a devilish grin.

If so, do you do anything about it?
Long baths, a high electric bill, love coupons written out to my hubby, and visits to the local adult toy store all help to squelch my needs. (For a very temporary time that is)

Have you ever participated in any of the wild scenarios of which you have written?
The right question would be are there any of the wild scenarios that you’ve participated in that you haven’t written about yet? And yes, there are a few. Don’t worry, I’ll get to those in time my pretty.


In your estimation, what is the sexiest book/story you have written? Do you have a sexy passage that you would share with us?
To date I would have to say Angel’s Wish, as yet unpublished. It’s a lesbian time travel back to the 1950’s. Here’s a short excerpt:

Fingertips traveled down across my collarbone and over the top of my breasts. I wanted to exaggerate a satisfied cat stretch, but I didn’t want the sensations to stop. I eagerly anticipated the strokes yet to come.
Nails set lightly on my nipples and then pulled up towards my chin. I knew that my secret admirer was a woman- or a man with very long nails.
I loved to play with women. They could be so soft and pliable. My nipples stood at attention and ached for more attention. I reached around and cupped the underside of both breasts to push them together. I heard a moan behind me that could only be interpreted as appreciation.
“You’ve missed something. Lick them.”
I felt a tongue circle my nipple and a soft bite in the center.
“Careful,” I whispered, “I’d hate to have to spank you for that.”
I commanded my admirer to suck both of my tits at one time. Ohhh, it felt so good to be in control. My urge to top was second nature. I lifted my buttocks from the water and pointed to my hairless mound.
“Dry it with your tongue.”
It was an awkward position but the tongue bath certainly made up for it. A flat, wide tongue slithered all over my pussy. I wondered if she liked her pussies bare as I did. My admirer began to separate my moist folds with two fingers but I put a stop to that.
“Use only your tongue. Oh yes, this is the way I like it.”
The tip of the phallic object opened my slit as the thick, heavy part of the human dildo rammed in.
“Only the tip of your tongue should taste my clit.”
I felt the wet muscle lightly circle my clit and the sides of my pussy. This admirer took orders well.
A tongue rolled together and pierced my hole without warning.


Very nice. Tell me, what is your most recent release? Please post a short blurb or tell us about it. Robert’s Story is coming soon to Red Rose Publishing. It’s a short fantasy story from the male POV. Robert is a dominate married to Nicole who has a hard limit. But guess what turns him on most of all? You’ve got it- the taboo hard limit. She tries to placate him with other women but it’s her that he really wants. You’ll have to read more to find out if this issue breaks up their marriage or brings them even closer together. I plan to write more fantasies in the male POV in the future. Robert’s Story is coming soon to Red Rose Publishing http://www.redrosepublishing.com

Lastly, just for fun. What are some of you favorite words or descriptions (even off color) for various male and female private parts or what can be done to them?
Now this question is just funny. I’m working on a Valentine story and asked everyone I knew name they use for a woman’s vagina. I’ll share a few here:
peakachoo, pocket, poonoony, mah junk, kiki, poodle, vagingo, pleasure garden, vajayjay, foo-foo, cunny, flapper, and one of my favorite- Davy Jone’s locker! Hahaha Life is nothing without humor. I had tons of responses to that question and hope to use everyone of them in this story I’m working on. If anyone has one you’d like to share please email it to me at kissa_starling@yahoo.com As much as I like dirty talk in the bedroom I don’t call the male parts too much of anything because I’m always using my mouth to further the cause.

Whooohoo! With that we’ll close. Thank you for being this week’s guinea… ah er, guest, Kissa and sharing with your fans. I hope you have found our questions… umm, stimulating.
Thank you for providing yet another incriminating Google search item for my family and friends to find. Hee, hee.

No Responses to “Erotic Authors – What Makes Them Tick?”

Leave a Reply

